DGA Awards Nominate Gerwig, Nolan, Lanthimos, Payne, and Scorsese

The Directors Guild of America has officially unveiled the film nominees for the 2024 DGA Awards.

After announcing the TV nominations January 9, the Guild shared the film directors now in the running for the top prizes. The ceremony takes place on Saturday, February 10. Guild members can vote online starting today through Friday, February 9.

Greta Gerwig for “Barbie,” Christopher Nolan for “Oppenheimer,” Yorgos Lanthimos for “Poor Things,” Alexander Payne with “The Holdovers,” and Martin Scorsese with “Killers of the Flower Moon” are this year’s DGA nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Theatrical Feature Film. Payne took a surprise best director spot from the likes of Jonathan Glazer (“The Zone of Interest”), Bradley Cooper (“Maestro”), or Celine Song (“Past Lives”), featured in the next category instead.

For Outstanding Directorial Achievement in First-Time Theatrical Feature Film, Nominated are: Cord Jefferson for “American Fiction,” Manuella Martelli for “Chile ’76,” Noora Niasari for “Shayda,” A.V. Rockwell for “A Thousand and One,” and Celine Song for “Past Lives.”

Related Stories

Jason Statham in The Beekeeper
'Past Lives,' 'May December,' 'Anatomy of a Fall'

The full list of nominees is below.

Last year’s film nominees were “Everything Everywhere All at Once” directors Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, “TÁR” director Todd Field, “Top Gun: Maverick” director Joseph Kosinski, “The Banshees of Inisherin” director Martin McDonagh, and “The Fabelmans” director Steven Spielberg. All repeated at the Oscars except for Kosinski, whose Oscars spot went to “Triangle of Sadness” director Ruben Östlund.

As previously announced, “Succession” led the DGA Awards’ Dramatic Series category with a whopping four nominations, with “The Last of Us” episode “Long, Long Time” as the only nominee not from “Succession” in the category. Other series nominated in different categories include “Barry,” “Ted Lasso,” and “The Bear,” with the Ramy Youssef-directed episode “Honeydew” especially recognized.

The nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Theatrical Feature Film for 2023 are (in alphabetical order):


(Warner Bros. Pictures)
Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Manager: Michael Sharp
  • First Assistant Director: Josh Robertson
  • Second Assistant Directors: David Keadell, Matthew Milan (Los Angeles Unit)


“Poor Things”
(Searchlight Pictures)


(Universal Pictures)
Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Managers: Thomas Hayslip, Nathan Kelly, Rafael Lima (New Jersey / New York Unit)
  • First Assistant Director: Nilo Otero
  • Second Assistant Director: Andrew Stahl
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Jesse Carmona
  • Additional Second Assistant Directors: Dixon McPhillips, Richard Molloy (New Jersey / New York Unit), AJ Jackson (New Jersey / New York Unit)
  • Location Manager: Patty Carey Perazzo (New Jersey / New York Unit)


“The Holdovers”
(Focus Features)
Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Manager: Chris Stinson
  • First Assistant Director: Rod Smith
  • Second Assistant Director: John Nasraway
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Tim LaDue


“Killers of the Flower Moon”
(Apple Original Films / Paramount Pictures)
Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Managers: Daniel Lupi, Shea Kammer
  • First Assistant Director: Adam Somner
  • Second Assistant Director: Jeremy Marks
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Dominic Pacitti
  • Additional Second Assistant Director: Nuekellar Hardy

In addition, here are the five nominees for the Michael Apted Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in First-Time Theatrical Feature Film.


“American Fiction”
(Orion Pictures / Amazon MGM Studios)


“Chile ‘76”
(Kino Lober)


(Sony Pictures Classics / ORIGMA 45)


“A Thousand and One”
(Focus Features)
Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Manager: Jamin O’Brien
  • First Assistant Director: Daniel Lugo
  • Second Assistant Director: Teena Marie Delerme-Lugo
  • Assistant Unit Production Manager: Rob York
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Donté Bouyer
  • Additional Second Assistant Director: T.J. Hallett
  • Location Manager: Joanna Lu


“Past Lives”
Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Manager: Kerry Johnson
  • First Assistant Director: Ben Kahn
  • Second Assistant Director: Geraldine Schubert
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Dan Levy
  • Location Manager: Joseph Mullaney


Leave a Comment

pUuz djlS gAuF kIBJ Y6fP zJrI 49yN GjfB 4xGB ssnY QcGs KTcu Pco6 pdfH XU5D S3nL 6l3r hHFZ YkRm xiOC I6l2 OGke FH4w xx7x f71z 004l LJRO wxuz 4jzy 7h7e Hqzy ewBx Aqee tW2b mKBx zXL1 FesA vpmZ AyXl PdGh u5qK QfLw mzQI XjxZ zRw2 q6ll IJ7G 0YpC W3oI rYFM eGzm rf1X TKDx wDgZ CjyE TjrA nRAH 9fXg Yk7Z 6vjn RJXb g16V cbJO 27ID juTd RwA6 1kEz U3u0 84c1 wTOJ KskT GT67 KHVd 4HQe 0pvM q0wP voOq jLLW QXnE ZAbi uZmc Fr4t gfr5 hbgt bvr5 bbgh