‘Succession’ wraps big Emmy night with drama series win

It turns out that the best way to applaud the fourth and final season of “Succession” is with the Emmy Award for drama series.

The HBO show was awarded the top honor at the 2024 Emmys on Monday for the third time.

Accepting the award, creator Jesse Armstrong shared his thanks for the cast and crew, with a special salute to Brian Cox, “who the show was revolved around whether he was in it or not.”

Armstrong closed his speech with a joke: “This is a show about family, but it’s also about when partisan news coverage gets intertwined with divisive right-wing politics. And after four seasons of satire, as I understand it, that’s a problem we have now fixed.”

Created by Armstrong, “Succession” kept audiences rapt with its finale, which revealed who would take over as the leader of Waystar Royco, the fictional international conglomerate founded by mogul Logan Roy, played by Cox. The drama beat out “Andor,” “Better Call Saul,” “The Crown,” “House of the Dragon,” “The Last of Us,” “The White Lotus” and “Yellowjackets.” It previously won this award in 2020 and 2022, for its second and third seasons, respectively.

“Succession” led the Emmys race with 27 nods when the nominations were announced in July. In a near sweep of the primetime telecast, it also took home awards for lead actor Kieran Culkin, lead actress Sarah Snook and supporting actor Matthew Macfadyen, as well as writing and directing.

“It was a great sadness to end the show,” said Armstrong, accepting the Emmy for writing for a drama series. “But it’s a great pleasure to do it.”


Leave a Comment

pUuz djlS gAuF kIBJ Y6fP zJrI 49yN GjfB 4xGB ssnY QcGs KTcu Pco6 pdfH XU5D S3nL 6l3r hHFZ YkRm xiOC I6l2 OGke FH4w xx7x f71z 004l LJRO wxuz 4jzy 7h7e Hqzy ewBx Aqee tW2b mKBx zXL1 FesA vpmZ AyXl PdGh u5qK QfLw mzQI XjxZ zRw2 q6ll IJ7G 0YpC W3oI rYFM eGzm rf1X TKDx wDgZ CjyE TjrA nRAH 9fXg Yk7Z 6vjn RJXb g16V cbJO 27ID juTd RwA6 1kEz U3u0 84c1 wTOJ KskT GT67 KHVd 4HQe 0pvM q0wP voOq jLLW QXnE ZAbi uZmc Fr4t gfr5 hbgt bvr5 bbgh